Our unparalleled history
A brief history....
We believe that Frewen's direct predecessor, Down House School, was the first specialist school for dyslexics in England and possibly the world.
Dyslexia was first described by Dr W Pringle Morgan in 1896, whose practice was based at Seaford in East Sussex. It is known that Morgan's practice encompassed a number of schools in the area and it seems likely that these may have included Down House School, then based at nearby Rottingdean. Down House School was established in 1910 by the exotically named Seaburne Godfrey Arthur May Moens, an amateur historian born in India. The school was evacuated to Herefordshire during the Second World War and upon its return settled at Northiam as Rottingdean had become 'very crowded'. According to a recently rediscovered Prospectus from that time the school was intended for boys 'for whom Public School Life, for one reason or another, is unsuitable' - but in order to avert concern it also states 'Abnormal boys are not accepted'! Certainly when the school moved to Brickwall in 1946 it already possessed specialist experience with dyslexics, as evidenced by a number of dyslexic old boys from that time who remain in touch.
Down House changed its name to Brickwall House School (sometimes known as Brickwall School), and then to Frewen College after Admiral Sir John Frewen GCB transferred the school into an educational trust. Since 1972 the school has specialised in dyslexia and related difficulties.